2015…

2015…

2015With all the chaos that a start of a new year brings I have finally managed to settle down and focus on the year that lies ahead. I have been greatly inspired by a number of other blogs where I have been encouraged by their goal setting for the year. As one who is not generally too bothered with things like new year’s resolutions and 5yr plans I have decided that this year will be different.

I am going to be 30 (eeeekkk), with 2 months to go until my birthday I am well and truly ready to leave my 20s behind and am looking forward to the new adventures that the 30s will bring. I feel a definite sense of change in me, especially in terms of focusing my energy into things are important to me and my growth as a person as opposed to doing what makes others happy or to impress those around me.

I stumbled across this really easy and simple way to set goals for the year using the numbers of the current year 2 0 1 5.. Its such a nifty little trick I may decide to continue with it. No promises 🙂

You are free to intepret the numbers as you wish and they could stand for anything really, I have chosen this:

2: New things to learn

My career has mostly been a bit stagnant I have found my happy comfortable place and this year I want to take it to the next level and increase my skill set. I am planning on a few courses in the next little while which I am looking forward to.

0: Something to stop doing.

I have a constant need to feel in control, to plan and organise and know whats coming next. This leads to great anxiety and stress. This year I hope to let go of some of that, be more spontaneous and let things happen more organically.

1: Thing to do for someone else

We take for granted the very basic things we have in our lives and I often find myself incredibly ungrateful. Nothing is ever enough I always want more, a bigger house, a newer car and fancier clothes. This year I am setting the goal to do at least 1 thing for someone else so that I can spread the love a bit.

5: Changes I need to make this year

  • Spend more time with my daughter – she is growing too fast before i know it we will be in the teenage years.
  • Only allow people who really care about me and my family into my life. Gone are the days where there are “tons” of friends. If it means I only have a handful of decent, caring and loving people. SO BE IT.
  • Show affection to those I love. I am not naturally an affectionate person, (my love language happens to be Acts of Service) I show I care by cooking elaborate meals, planning outings and buying gifts. Sometimes a hug is all that is needed.
  • Get fit and healthy! no further explanation required.
  • Be more spontaneous – everything does not need to be planned, if there is no list it will not be the end of the world. My goal is to sometimes just see what happens.

Leave a comment